Congratulations to Tammy Douglass Smith, Principal at Van R. Butler Elementary, for receiving the Principal of the Year Award for Walton County School District! Mrs. Smith has served for 36 years in WCSD, and has been principal at at VRB since 2005. Under her leadership, Van R. Butler Elementary has been named an A+ school since the 2006-2007 school year. We are so proud of Mrs. Smith and all of her contributions to the lives of so many students through the years. VRB is currently the largest school in the district with over 1100 students. 
Mrs. Smith, you are EPIC in every sense of the word, and we are blessed to have you in the Walton County School District!

Congratulations to the 2019 Walton County Assistant Principal of the Year, Mr. James Ross, at South Walton High School! Mr. Ross has been at SWHS since 2011, serving 2 years as teacher on special assignment, and then Assistant Principal. Mr. Ross has seen SWHS grow from 541 students in 2011 to 894 students in 2019, and has been instrumental in helping the school maintain the status of A+ school consistently during this time period. 
We are proud to have Mr. James Ross as our Assistant Principal of the Year!